Monthly Archives: August 2022

Aboutchea Boy

My name is Jarrett Jevon Ray. I am a Mass Communications major at Piedmont University. I believe I’m a sophomore or junior. Before I came to Piedmont, I attended Georgia State University for Communications and Theater. Before Georgia State University, I was attending Dalton State College majoring in psychology. I came to Piedmont to pursue a career in radio.                                                                                         

If my friends were to describe my personality, I think they would use words such as goofy, caring, and sensitive. From my perspective my personality usually leaves a positive impact on people whether we’re still friends today or not. 

I am an only child. So, growing up I had to play by myself a lot. Which is probably the reason I easily fell in love with the game of basketball. It’s probably the only sport you can practice by yourself. Since the seventh grade I’ve had a deep passion for basketball. It’s always been more than a sport to me. Playing basketball was almost like therapy. Just being on the court and not having to worry about school, troubles at home, or my future. On my worst days basketball was always there for me one way or another, and still is. 

Right now, I’m focused solely on pursuing a career in radio. A goal of mine is to one day become a member of the Breakfast Club.  The Breakfast Club is an American syndicated radio show based in New York City. They’re show has been on air since 2010 which amazes because, as they say on the show, they’re team and show has been on air together longer than some people have been married. After radio my retirement plans are a little all over the place. But I’m interested in trying stand-up comedy and I also hope to get a chance to host my own TV talk show.

Autobiography

Chloe Spradlin

My name is Chloe Spradlin and this is my first year at Piedmont. I am a junior transfer student from the University of Montevallo. I transferred to play soccer for the Lions, but the mass communications program is just as important to me.

I want to have a career in sports journalism. I love all sports but my favorites are soccer, football and baseball. I am always playing or watching sports, and I knew from an early age that I wanted my career to be in sports. I can see myself coaching but commentating and analyzing is my dream.

I was born and raised in Atlanta, Georgia with my mom, January, and my sister, Harper. I graduated from Starr’s Mill High School in 2020.

At my old school, I changed my major twice. My freshman year from exercise science to communications, and my sophomore year from communications to mass communications. I took a semester of mass communications classes and fell in love with what I was doing. I can’t wait to be involved with it when I am older.

Since I live in Atlanta, there are a lot of places I can intern or work for in the future. CNN, Cox Media, Sinclair Broadcasting and Bally Sports are all places I’ve applied to intern with, but I didn’t get them. This year my plan is to try and branch out of state for internship opportunities.

I am using Piedmont as a second chance. As much as I loved my old school, I struggled there for a lot of reasons. This past year I was able to regroup and find what is important to me. I have also matured and understood that I have to work for what I want. Life came easy to me in my childhood, so college was a shock for me.

Overall, I am anxious, but excited to start this new chapter in my life!

Autobiography

My name is Hailey Johnson. I am a junior and mass communications major at Piedmont University.

 I was born and raised in Arizona but moved to Newnan, Georgia my sophomore year of high school. It’s difficult because all my extended family lives in Arizona so it’s hard not having them around but just gives us more of an excuse to go back and visit! I am on the Piedmont women’s soccer team, and I am involved with The Roar as the sports editor. I love writing as well as photography and am always taking pictures whether it’s of my friends when we hang out, out on the field at a sporting event, or planned photoshoots.

            I come from a big family who I absolutely adore, and they mean so much to me. I have two brothers and two sisters. My older brother, Brenden, who is a helicopter mechanic in the Navy, is married and has a beautiful two-year-old daughter! I am the second oldest, then I have my two sisters who are both in high school. Rylie is a senior and Makenzie is a junior. Something interesting about them is that they’re only 11 months apart, so they are super close! Then I have my youngest brother, Callen, he just started second grade and loves to play baseball. They all are truly my best friends and I love being around them. I am very close with both my parents, especially my dad. Him and I have very similar personalities, not to mention I look just like him. My mom is the sweetest, most down to earth person I’ve met, and she always makes sure I feel loved and thought of, especially when I’m away at school!  Something my whole family enjoys is the lake. We have a ski boat and love to take it out to go wakeboarding, tubing, and fishing. If I could live on the lake, I would! 

After I graduate, I’m not sure exactly what I want to do but I’m hoping it will involve journalism and possibly photography!

Autobiography

By Samantha Carvallo

Something about me that is kind of shocking to most people is my origin and ethnicity. It is my favorite thing to tell people simply because I love their reactions and sudden interest. Before I get into that, let me introduce myself. 

My name is Samantha Carvallo and I am a senior graphic design major and mass communications minor here at Piedmont University. I came to Piedmont as a recruited cross country runner and had an interest in athletic training. My science skills, however, were pretty subpar and I did not do so well my first semester here. My art skills have been around since I was little but I always thought of them as a back-up plan. I never thought I could make a career out of it until I discovered my interest in graphic design. I changed my major the following semester and felt like I found my place. Last year, I decided to take my graphic design experience a little further by becoming the publications designer for The Roar and made so many new friends. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to minor in mass communications to pursue a career in design editing. 

How did I end up in Georgia to begin with? Well, I was actually born in Talca, Chile along with my older sister (yes I do speak spanish). When I turned two years old, my family and I moved to Fredericksburg, Virginia which is where my younger brother was born. We moved down to Georgia not long after because my father had gotten a teaching position at the University of Georgia as a spanish professor. I come across as fully white because of my skin color but that is not the case. I am mixed. My mom is from Lafayette, Indiana and met my dad while they were getting their master’s degrees at Ohio State University. My dad is the one who encouraged my mom to go to his hometown (Talca) to meet his family and learn about the culture. She became fluent in spanish not long after she moved with my dad and they got married not long after. 

Whenever I ask about why we left Chile, I am always told that it was so my siblings and I could have a better life and work for things that not every chilean can have. I am thankful and so happy to be here. It is crazy to think about how a simple decision affected my whole life up to this point, but I will never forget where I am from. 

I graduate next spring and it sends chills down my spine even writing this because I have no clue what my capstone is going to be on. I haven’t determined if these are excited chills or anxious chills but I know that I will make it out okay. Piedmont will always have a place in my heart. 

autobiography

My name is Kayla, I’m 3rd year here at piedmont university. I’m a mass compaction major as well. Some things I love to do in my free time include. Swimming, dancing, singing, and reading. I’ve been swimming since I was 6 years old it’s always been my favorite thing to do. I have a total of 13 older siblings than me and one younger.

My favorite color is yellow, I have a bad obsession with the color yellow. I like to think I have a bubbly personality, I try to always smile and be nice key work here is that I try. Some goals I have for myself is to graduate and to get a new car before the year is up. Growing up I was raised more on the town boy side, sometimes I suspect my dad wanted me to be a boy.

Below you will see a picture of me where I felt like I was actually making moves in my life.

Anddddddddddddddddd that’s me